	Tenure	Man.	Sask.	Alta.	B.C.	Yukon and N.W.T.	Canada
_		sq. miles	sq. miles	sq. miles	sq. miles	sq. miles	sq. miles
	Alienated, patented, granted, etc In process of alienation Dominion lands other than National Parks and Indian Reserves	44,001 172 3	103,342 1,213 47	73,396 2,057 103	17,264 6,942	50 10	351, 123 ³ 16, 694 ⁴
5.	Parks and indial Reserves. Indian Reserves. Provincial lands, including leased lands and forest reserves, but not	1,148 816	1,869 1,879	20,9406 2,217	161 1,715 1,302	1,459,8695 3,6257 9	1,460,425° 29,708° 8,639
7.	provincial parks	173, 583 Nil	$127,942 \\ 1,683$	150,084 3	315,000 16,895	Nil "	1,570,992 29,301
	Totals, Land Area	219,723	237,975	248,800	359,279	1,463,563	3,466,882

1.--Classification of Lands in Canada, by Tenure, (circa) 1944-concluded

¹ Includes lands in process of alienation. ² Less than one square mile. ³ See footnotes to constituent items. ⁴ For provinces indicated only. ⁵ Includes 752,282 square miles set aside by Order in Council as native game preserves in which only Indians and Eskimos may hunt, as game sanctuaries in which hunting and trapping is forbidden, and as reserves for reindeer grazing, but which are not regarded as national parks. ⁶ Includes Wood Buffalo Park (which, although reserved by the Dominion, is not administered as a national park) and the Tar Sands Reserve (2,068 acres). ⁷ Includes that portion of the Wood Buffalo Park in N.W.T.

Subsection 1.-Dominion Public Lands*

The public lands under the administration of the Dominion Government comprise lands in the Northwest Territories, including the Arctic Archipelago and the islands in Hudson Strait and Bay and James Bay; lands in Yukon Territory; National Parks and historic sites (see pp. 28-33); Indian reserves (see p. 1099); Ordnance and Admiralty lands, and, in general, all lands held by the several Departments of the Dominion Government for various purposes connected with Dominion administration including the Tar Sands Reservation comprising 4 areas, amounting in all to 2,068 acres, in the Fort McMurray District of Alberta. The lands and other natural resources lying within the boundaries of the Provinces of Manitoba, Saskatchewan, Alberta and British Columbia that had formerly been administered by the Dominion Government, were transferred in 1930 to the administration of the provinces concerned. (See p. 1019 of the 1931 Year Book.)

The great bulk of the land areas under Dominion administration are those of Yukon and the Northwest Territories, amounting to about 1,463,563 square miles or 42 p.c. of the land surface of Canada. In general, the southern border of both Yukon and the Northwest Territories is 60° N. latitude. In Europe, the cities of Oslo, Stockholm and Leningrad are near this line; about three-fourths of Norway, two-thirds of Sweden, Finland and a large portion of Russia are north of it. This northern part of the national domain is under the administration of the Lands, Parks and Forests Branch of the Department of Mines and Resources. The Royal Canadian Mounted Police maintain law and order throughout Yukon and the Northwest Territories.

The Northwest Territories.—At pp. 946-948 of the 1941 Year Book an account of the administration of the Northwest Territories is given. The following paragraphs bring that review up to date.

^{*} Prepared under the direction of R. A. Gibson, Deputy Commissioner, Administration of the Northwest Territories, Ottawa.